The Bythams SchoolOur Governing Body

At The Bythams Primary School our Governors play an important role in the school community, supporting our staff and children to uphold the values and ethos which makes our school so special. Our aim is to be an effective governing body always adopting best practice and acting in the best interests of the school in everything that it does.

What we do

The Governing body is responsible for the strategic management of our school and makes decisions about a wide range of issues, including:

  • Ensuring accountability
  • Acting as a ‘critical friend’ to the Head Teacher
  • Monitoring and evaluating the school’s progress
  • Budgetary allocation and control
  • Planning for the long term future of the school
  • Setting the school’s aims and values
  • Appointing senior members of staff including the Head Teacher
Mr Adrian Reed

Chair of Governors

Co Opted Governor
Appointed (Co-Opted) 18 May 2023
Appointed (Chair) 18 May 2023
Appointed by Governing Body
Expected Retirement Date (Chair) 17 May 2025
Expected Retirement Date (Co-Opted) 17 May 2027

Mr Martin Sutton

Head of School
Appointment Ongoing

Staff Governor

Appointed by Governing Body

James Rees

Co-opted Governor
Appointed 27 November 2023
Appointed by Governing Body
Expected Retirement date: 26 November 2027 

Eleanor Turner

Parent Governor
Appointed by Parents
Expected Retirement Date 09 November 2027

Charlotte Selway

Clerk to the Governors
Position Ongoing

How are Governors appointed

There are several different groups responsible for appointing governors, although once appointed all governors essentially perform the same role.

Governing Body Structure:

The governing body shall consist of:

1 Chair
1 Vice
1 Headteacher
1 Staff governor
3 co-opted governors
2 Parent governors
1 Clerk

Our Chair of the Governing Body is Mr Adrian Reed

Our Vice Chair is TBC

Our Lead Governors are:

Finance  - Adrian Reed
Safeguarding – James Rees
Standards & Performance – TBA
Strategy – TBA